Talkin’ About a Resolution

When I was a child, making New Year’s Resolutions was a thing that grown-ups did and it didn’t sound like fun. Lose ten pounds. Quit smoking. Go to church every Sunday. Get up ten minutes earlier and get to work on time. No adult of my limited acquaintance ever proposed to do something for which I would have sacrificed my allowance. Take a longer vacation. Play longer on sunny days. Take the kids to ball games or the zoo or the movies. Resolution-making seemed one part of adulthood I’d rather avoid. And I have. Until now.

Of course if someone asked me “What’s your New Year’s Resolution?” I might mumble about losing weight…because I DO try to do that, only not because it is New Year’s, so that doesn’t count. And I DID quit smoking, but not because of New Year’s. It was my wedding gift to my daughter. Making promises I end up breaking is not my style. I don’t like to fail, and I hate to feel guilty, so I try not to make promises at all unless they’re a done deal. When I do promise something, I do my best to make sure to make that promise happen. Again, that’s me, hopefully always a person of my word. But this year is different for several reasons.

I’m getting older. So are we all. But I know that I need to promise myself to take care of myself. Resolution #1. Walking, eating healthy, getting my rest, taking deep breaths.

Work is a necessity whether at home or ‘abroad’. My mind stays sharper. My attitude stays younger. Resolution #2. Stay active, keep a positive attitude as much as humanly possible, leave your work at work and your personal efforts where they belong.

Keeping the faith. It doesn’t matter what religion, if any, a person has. It matters that they adhere to basics and try to live their lives accordingly. Do unto others as I would have them do unto me. Resolution #3. Speak kindly, be slow to anger, and forgive as much as I can. No one is perfect. Not even me.

That matter of control. There’s a lot to be said about not worrying about those things we can’t control and focusing on those we can. Resolution #4. Work on fixing those things I can to the best of my ability. Ask for help when I need it. Do not ignore those uncontrollable things. Some of them can be fixed if we work together. Some.

Taking life one day at a time. None of us knows exactly what the future will bring, not even tomorrow in a lot of cases. Resolution #5. Don’t borrow trouble or spend time creating “what ifs” unless I’m also thinking of solutions. This one goes hand in hand with #4.

Last but not least, loving yourself. Loving yourself warts and all helps you to love others. Resolution #6. Judge people carefully. Get to know them for who they are. Treasure old friends, make new ones, and keep them close to your heart alongside family. Because in a way they are.

Not one of these resolutions will ever be truly completed but that’s not a bad thing. They’re works in progress. So am I. Happy 2013!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

